Series list

I often get asked which books are in each series, so I've put these lists up to help readers.

If you want to buy books to complete your collection, try ordering them from a bookshop. Even if they're out of print the books published by Hodder & Stoughton are reprinted regularly and orders from bookshops are what nudge them to reprint again.

The early books published by Severn House are out of print, but are available as ebooks.

The Shannah Jay books are out of print, but are available as ebooks online, or you can buy here by clicking on 'Shop' above.

List of all series

Backshaw Moss

The final group of stories set in the Ellin Valley in the mid 1930s. Three houses have been left to Jane Chapman's relatives, and each house brings its own challenges. In order to profit fully from the bequests each inheritor has to make a big effort. Can they win through? Will Jane's legacy bring them the benefits she hoped?

A Valley Dream May 2021
A Valley Wedding May 2022
A Valley Secret June 2022

Birch End

Stories set in the 1930s in the middle village of the EllinValley, following on from the Ellindale and Rivenshaw series.

A Daughter's Journey August 2019
A Widow's Courage April 2020
A Woman's Promise November 2020


In the early 1930s jobs were scarce but the people of the small village of Ellindale at the top of a Pennine valley were battlers and would find a way to help one another.

One Quiet Woman May 2017
One Kind Man January 2018
One Special Village September 2018
One Perfect Family March 2019

Gibson Family Saga

A sweeping saga, spanning the years from 1820 to 1866, as Annie Gibson and her family climb from backstreet poverty to riches

Salem Street January 1994
High Street June 1994
Ridge Hill January 1995
Hallam Square June 1995
Spinners Lake January 1996


Greyladies was built in the 16th century, and the old manor house has its secrets, as its lady owners find out. But it provides them with a refuge in times of trouble.

Heir to Greyladies July 2013
Mistress of Greyladies August 2014
Legacy of Greyladies June 2015


Linked to the Greyladies series, these historical stories are about the women helped by the Greyladies Trust. The stories are set in Wiltshire, UK, in the early years of the 20th century.

The Honeyfield Bequest August 2016
A Stranger in Honeyfield January 2017
Peace Comes to Honeyfield June 2018

Jubilee Lake

Stories set in Pennine Valley, where a lake is being developed 'properly' and Walter Crossley is trying to help all his family and new friends, as well as keep an eye on 'his' town.

Golden Dreams January 2022
Golden Dreams January 2022
Silver Wishes December 2022
Golden Dreams May 2023

Lady Bingram's Aides

1918: After the Great War ended, women had to reconcile old lives and new skills.

Tomorrow's Promises July 2007
Yesterday's Girl January 2008

Larch Tree Lane

Series of modern stories set in imaginary Wiltshire Valley

Larch Tree Lane October 2022

Larch Tree Lane

Modern stories set in imaginary Wiltshire valley

Penny Lake

This modern story is set in a leisure village near Penny Lake in Wiltshire and is linked to 'Moving On;

Changing Lara April 2019
Finding Cassie January 2020
Marrying Simone October 2020


Post world war 2

A Time to Remember January 2015
A Time For Renewal August 2015
A Time to Rejoice May 2016
Gifts For Our Time January 2017

Second Chronicles of Tenebrak

Goes back to the origins of Temple Tenebrak. Raiders infected with Discord madness are destroying the new settlements, killing and looting. Can they be stopped?

Tenebrak the Founding June 2010

The Chronicles of Tenebrak

Follows a mighty struggle against evil on a planet focused on fostering psychic gifts instead of depending on technology.

Quest January 1994
Lands of Nowhere January 1995
Shadow of the Serpent June 1995
The Price of Wisdom August 1996

The 'Hope' Stories

Modern novels, romantic suspense, linked stories connected by the old Drover's Hope pub, now an antiques centre. Heroines in jeopardy, heroes helping them escape danger.

A Place of Hope November 2012
In Search of Hope October 2013
A Time for Hope October 2014

The Irish Sisters

Taken unwillingly from Ireland to Lancashire, then to Australia, the sisters are separated and struggle to find one another again.

Pennyworth of Sunshine February 2003
Twopenny Rainbows February 2004
Threepenny Dreams February 2004

The Kershaw Sisters

Four sisters, growing up during the Great War, find themselves facing a changed and difficult new world afterwards.

Our Lizzie January 1998
Our Polly June 2000
Our Eva September 2002
Our Mary Ann September 2003

The Lancashire Settlers

Taken to Australia, Liza has to find a new life, and then her daughter is caught up in the legacy of her mother's problems.

Lancashire Lass January 2000
Lancashire Legacy June 2001

The Music Hall series

Set against the early days of the Music Hall, the story of Carrie Preston and her siblings.

Pride of Lancashire August 2005
Star of the North January 2006
Bright Day Dawning July 2006
Heart of the Town December 2006

The 'Peppercorn' Series

A long street in a small Wiltshire town – so many stories to tell.

Peppercorn Street November 2014
Cinnamon Gardens October 2015
Saffron Lane September 2017
Bay Tree Cottage March 2018
Christmas in Peppercorn Street October 2019

The Staley Family

Emmy wants to stay respectable and marry Jack Staley, Meg loses her husband and runs away from her troubles.

Down Weavers Lane January 2002
Calico Road February 2005

The Swan River Saga

Mill girls, four sisters, taken to Western Australia in 1863, find life full of surprises.

Farewell to Lancashire July 2009
Beyond the Sunset July 2010
Destiny's Path March 2013

The Traders

Set in Singapore and Western Australia in the 1860s. New set of main characters, but some links with characters from the Swn River Saga

The Trader's Wife August 2011
The Trader's Sister April 2012
The Trader's Dream October 2012
The Trader's Gift March 2013
The Trader's Reward April 2014

The Wiltshire Girls

1910, Mattie Willett and her sisters run away from their bullying father. But life isn't easy for women on their own.

Cherry Tree Lane August 2010
Elm Tree Road August 2011
Yew Tree Gardens June 2012


Modern stories set in a Waterfront area of Mandurah, Western Australia

Mara's Choice June 2021
Sarah's Gift February 2022


Anna Jacobs is happy to be contacted about her writing and books. Please visit the contact page for more information.


Find Anna on Facebook.